JaxPoliticsOnline.com

Observations and musings on Jacksonville Politics

CTDC and others against Waste Management no-bid contract

The Concerned Taxpayers of Duval County (CTDC) has swung into high gear its campaign opposing the Mayor’s proposed Waste Management no-bid contract to run the Trail Ridge Landfill.  CTDC joins the growing chorus of Jacksonville citizens opposed to the no-bid contract.

At the CTDC Board meeting on February 9th, the Officers and Directors adopted a resolution opposing the contract and the resolution was read into the City Council meeting minutes the following evening.  You can read the resolution after the break in this post.

In addition, the CTDC has joined a coalition of folks working together to ask City Council members to vote against the landfill. The coalition has set up their own webpage, www.bidthelandfill.org (currently under construction), where information on the no-bid contract is provided, as well as an online poll. They are also sponsoring a petition drive where you can voice your opinion. It’s located at www.ipetitions.com/petition/BidTheLandfill/index.html.

You should also continue to call or E-mail the Mayor and City Council to let them know how you feel about the Waste Management no-bid contract.  City Council members in particular could use your input as the Mayor is personally turning up the heat on them.  Their contact information is also available after the break.

Mayor Peyton, Phone: 630-1776, Email: JPeyton@coj.net
Group 1: Ronnie Fussell, Phone: (904) 630-1393, Email: RonnieF@coj.net
Group 2: John R. Crescimbeni, Phone: (904) 630-1381, Email: JRC@coj.net
Group 3: Stephen C. Joost, Phone: (904) 630-1396, Email: Joost@coj.net
Group 4: Kevin Hyde, Phone: (904) 630-1398, Email: KHyde@coj.net
Group 5: Glorious J. Johnson, Phone: (904) 630-1387, Email: GloriousJ@coj.net
District 1: Clay Yarborough, Phone: (904) 630-1389, Email: Clay@coj.net
District 2: William Bishop, Phone: (904) 630-1392, Email: WBishop@coj.net
District 3: Richard Clark, Phone: (904) 630-1386, Email: RClark@coj.net
District 4: Don Redman, Phone: (904) 630-1394, Email: Redman@coj.net
District 5: Art Shad, Phone: (904) 630-1382, Email: AShad@coj.net
District 6: Jack Webb, Phone: (904) 630-1388, Email: Webb@coj.net
District 7: Dr. Johnny Gaffney, Phone: (904) 630-1384, Email: Gaffney@coj.net
District 8: E. Denise Lee, Phone: (904) 630-1385, Email: EDLee@coj.net
District 9: Warren A. Jones, Phone: (904) 630-1395, Email: WAJones@coj.net
District 10: Reginald L. Brown, Phone: (904) 630-1684, Email: RBrown@coj.net
District 11: Ray Holt, Phone: (904) 630-1383, Email: Holt@coj.net
District 12: Daniel Davis, Phone: (904) 630-1380, Email: DDavis@coj.net
District 13: Art Graham, Phone: (904) 630-1397, Email: ArtG@coj.net
District 14: Michael Corrigan, Phone: (904) 630-1390, Email: Corrigan@coj.net

A RESOLUTION OF THE CONCERNED TAXPAYERS OF DUVAL COUNTY IN OPPOSITION TO THE NO BID TRAIL RIDGE LANDFILL CONTRACT

Whereas multiple companies have demonstrated an interest in waste disposal services for the City of Jacksonville ; and

Whereas the competitive bid process predominantly offers the taxpayers of Duval County the most cost efficient services; and

Whereas the city’s current procurement policy requires that this contract be competitively bid unless it is waived by city ordinance

Now therefore be it resolved that the Concerned Taxpayers of Duval County supports a competitive bidding process as essential to achieving the best deal for the taxpayers in regards to the Trail Ridge Landfill waste disposal contract.

Be it further Resolved that the Concerned Taxpayers of Duval County supports Trail Ridge landfill contract terms that do not exceed the life of any active landfill cell and that the decision to build additional cells requires a competitive bidding process and a new contract for the life of the new cell

Be it further finally resolved that the Concerned Taxpayers of Duval County urges City Council to abide by the city procurement policy and not waive the rules requiring that the Trail Ridge waste disposal contract be competitively bid.

Advertisements

Filed under: Jacksonville, Jacksonville City Council, Mayor of Jacksonville, , ,

4 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. Andy jackson says:

    The Concerned Taxpayers of Duval County

    LOL

    Next….

  2. Frank Drebin says:

    I am glad we have this forum.

    The Jax Daily Blog won’t touch this.

  3. Nice list of our mosty republican representives who definitely don’t serve the residents, yet all their campaign materials stated they have, and would do so. The elections of 2010 will be here quite soon, or perhaps an impeachment activity is in order. This administration is out of control plain and simple, and someone needs to get the checkbook and pen out of their hands.

  4. Dave says:

    The next election is in 2011, not 2010.

    If you want things to change, get involved! Help a candidate! As long as our government is for sale to the highest bidder, nothing will change.

%d bloggers like this: